UMDCTF 2023 - CTF Writeup

UMDCTF 2023 - CTF Writeup

General Remarks

CTF Page Link: https://umdctf.io/

UMDCTF had a large array of challenges that tested different aspects of offensive security but I was mostly drawn towards OSINT challenges.

Mirror Unknown [Forensics]

Challenge Context

I found some unknown symbols in a nearby collapsed cave. Can you figure out what they mean?

(Note: Ancient civilizations didn't believe in whitespace or lowercase)

Solution

  • The challenge description came with the above image attached.

  • After doing a Google Image Search I learnt that it was Pokemon Alphabet called 'Unown' and each symbol represented a regular alphabetic letter.

  • I found two possible ways to decipher this:

  • The first method above was my first attempt, I used https://www.dcode.fr/pokemon-unown-alphabet.

  • This attempt was unsuccessful - I had noticed that from the image I got some symbols were inverted (did not tally with the provided symbols on the platform).

  • That's when I got a hint from the title of the challenge 'Mirror Unkown' - I assumed that this image was somehow inverted (rotated).

  • With the help of https://www.img2go.com/rotate-image, I was able to rotate the image both on the x and y axis and deciphering the image was easy - I just tallied the symbols to the Unown Alphabet to get the flag.

  • I, of course, had to append UMDCTF{} to the flag for it to be accepted.

Gone Missing 1 [OSINT]

Challenge Context

A fire type Pokemon has gone missing. Can you find it?

Solution

  • The challenge descriptions for Gone Missing 1, 2 and 3 had a link to the above website.

  • This OSINT (Opensource Intelligence) challenge gave us a 360 google street view picture of a random location and to 'capture the flag' or solve the challenge a player was supposed to give the precise location where the picture was taken.

  • For Gone Missing 1, the picture below was provided:

  • My trick on this challenge (both 1 and 2) was to zoom in on a significant landmark or object on the image, take a screenshot and do a reverse search with Google Images 'search by image' feature on the browser.

  • For this challenge, I zoomed in on the horse statue and the building behind it and did an image search.

  • From the search, the image identified the location as the 'Royal Palace' (or det kongelige slott in Norwegian) in Norway, Oslo.

  • I looked at the location of this place on my full-screen google maps so that I could match it with the map provided on the challenge website.

  • My first attempt was the location of the actual palace, but this was incorrect.

  • The location required was the precise location from which the image was taken, in this case, the palace square.

Gone Missing 2 [OSINT]

Challenge Context

A grass type Pokemon has gone missing. Can you find it?

Solution

  • For Gone Missing 1, the picture below was provided:

  • Using the same concept as challenge 1, I did a reverse image search while zooming in on the star (it was the closest significant landmark).

  • This search did not give a precise location so I had to go through multiple articles to learn that the location of the star on the image was Castle Rock, Colorado, USA.

  • After further research to find the precise location of the star within the town, I discovered its location in Rock Park.

  • After several attempts, I managed to find the precise location - it was relatively difficult because you had to guess the correct angle from which the image was taken.

TCC1

Challenge Context

I found this hacker group and they're acting kinda strange. Let's do some diggin'. Maybe we can find their discord server? I thought they linked it on their website before...

Solution

  • The challenge description had a link to a website for the mentioned 'hacker' group attached.

  • After looking around on the website I couldn't find the mentioned discord link.

  • This is when I decided to use the Way Back Machine ( https://archive.org/web/ ) which essentially stores older versions of a website.

  • After discovering an earlier snapshot of the website I opened it and found the discord channel link attached.